Psychology Concentration

A concentration in psychology requires a minimum of 18 points, including The Science of Psychology (PSYC UN1001) and courses in at least two of the three groups: Group I - Cognition & Perception; Group II - Psychobiology & Neuroscience; Group III - Social, Personality, & Abnormal.


Restrictions on research credits, Barnard credits, and transfer credits are modified from those of the Psychology Major as follows:

  1. Only 4 points total from research or field-work courses, including PSYC UN3950, UN3920, BC3466, BC3473, BC3592 and BC3599
  2. Only 5 points from Barnard (including PSYC BC1001)
  3. Only 5 points total (including any Barnard points) from psychology courses taken outside the department may be applied toward the concentration.

Except as noted above, other regulations outlined in the Psychology Major section regarding grades, transfer credits, and overlapping courses also apply toward the Psychology Concentration